Random Ramblings

February 9, 2009

Same computer, faster, cleaner desktop

Filed under: Uncategorized — camotop @ 2:21 am

For while my computer has been slowing down. Simple tasks like copying photos from an SD card over to the computer seemed to take forever.  Starting applications like Firefox would be slow too.  Not only that, even if I didn’t do anything, and leave the computer on overnight, the next day, it would barely do anything, until I logged out, and logged back in again. Now my computer is about 5 years old, so of course I started dreaming about a new, fast computer. But with the economy as it is, we’re really keeping our spending in check, so a new computer (unless the old one really breaks) is not in the budget.

Then KDE 4.2 was released. Not only was the install supersmooth, this version really makes my computer fly!   File operations are smooth again, applications start faster, and the computer doesn’t come to a crawl overnight. The desktop looks clean, yet tasteful. I have flexibility in move widgets from the taskbar to the desktop depending on if I want a smaller or larger version of it.

Bottom line: KDE 4.2 on Kubuntu 8.10 rocks, allowing me to get some more mileage on my old computer.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

